MNGT 138- W1 BLOGPOST #1

I am taking MNGT 138 Information Design for Business as a required course in the Social Media Marketing Program. Before signing up, I had no prior knowledge of Information Design. Since I’m new to this I am open to learn anything and everything this class has to offer!

I’m looking forward to learning techniques and strategies for effective technical writing. It’s been awhile, but I have written poetry and I love it. I just recently started journaling too. Ever since I took English 101, I’m more open and willing to learn and do the activities that’ll strengthen my skills as a writer. I see my writing as an extension of who I am, what I feel, what I believe, and I want to be sure I’m able to articulate myself the best way that I can. Also the idea of content writing, or writing to create income while I go to school is appealing. If I continue to improve my technical writing that would definitely be something I’d look into.

The technical writing is what I enjoy learning about most, but it also seems to be what I struggle with constantly. Even if it’s just replying back to someone in our discussion, or simple blog assignments, I’ll often find myself stuck for a long period of time trying to figure out the best way to write what’s inside my mind. Reading, typing, re-typing thinking “Blah, what are you really trying to say Asaph..” Or “Eh, that’s not what I sound like…”. These moments are time consuming. They leave me a little frustrated thinking about all the time I’m wasting. I guess it’s just a matter of practice, so I’m hoping the techniques will help me become more efficient and articulate in my writing.

The video in our W1 Module “How to Simplify Sentences” is an example of the kind of information I’ll gain a lot of value from.

Aside from that, I’m pretty new to the world of information design, so I’m looking forward to the fundamentals, and psychology behind what makes fonts, colors, design attractive and successful. As well as doing the information design activities.

Leave a Reply

